Regional Comms Links

 

 

Regional Comms Links

The network of Regional Communications Links is drawn from the wider community of NIHR communicators to support delivery of the  Communications Strategy. They work together sharing best practice and connecting NIHR communicators with each other. 

Region Nameemail  
North East and North Cumbria  Nicola Weatherburn   Nicola.Weatherburn@cntw.nhs.uk
Yorkshire and Humber Kate Jones h.k.jones@sheffield.ac.uk
North West Coast and Greater Manchester  Greg Woodley  greg.woodley@nihr.ac.uk
East Midlands  Steve Clapperton  steve.clapperton@nihr.ac.uk
West Midlands  Claire Hall   claireanne.hall@nihr.ac.uk
West of England  Zoe Trinder-Widdess  zoe.trinder-widdess@bristol.ac.uk
Thames Valley and South Midlands Gavin Hubbard  gavin.hubbard@nihr.ac.uk
East of England  Esther Reeve  esther.reeve@nihr.ac.uk
Pan London Stuart Blackburn  stuart.blackburn@nihr.ac.uk
South West Peninsula David Walker  D.C.Walker@exeter.ac.uk
Wessex Kim Appleby  kim.appleby@nihr.ac.uk
Kent, Surrey and Sussex Gillian Reeves  gillian.reeves@nihr.ac.uk

 

Role description

These roles represent an exciting professional development opportunity for communicators wishing to get more involved in the work of the NIHR at a national level.

The Links act as key liaison points between local communications professionals and the NIHR Communications Programme Board (CPB).

CPB is chaired by Frances Beves, NIHR Director of Communications, and comprises the communications leaders from the Coordinating Centres and a small central communications delivery team.  The RCLs connect with CPB through the NIHR Internal Comms & Regional Engagement Lead, Hannah Stoneman.

The roles involve:

  • bringing a ‘frontline perspective’ to planned programmes of activity, such as signature campaigns
  • building and nurturing a regional network of NIHR communicators to enable collaboration and best practice sharing

The roles complement the work of NIHR communications teams based in Coordinating Centres, who are still responsible for information cascades and for advice on news notification or visual identity.

There is no pay associated with these roles, but each Regional Communications Link is assigned a small non-pay budget.

It’s estimated that the role will require a maximum of 10 hours per month in terms of time commitment. The RCL programme will be facilitated via a dedicated Google Community, 8 virtual meetings a year around an hour and a half , two face to face meetings scheduled in advance, most likely hosted in London.

Anyone who currently works for any part of the NIHR in a communications capacity, except for Coordinating Centre staff, is eligible to apply for the Regional Communications Link roles.

 

Related pages